Living Peace Award


“This peace award acknowledges those who not only wish for peace, but who are an embodiment of peace in themselves, living it daily.  Through their determination, they have decided to follow the way of peace, not aggression. They are an inspiration to all of us: those of us who have suffered directly or indirectly as a result of war or aggression, as well as those who face any form of hardship or sacrifice.”

~ Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche, 
Shambhala Mountain Center 
 September 17, 2006


In 2006, Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche established the Living Peace Award to recognize a person or organization that has had an extraordinary global impact in the service of peace. His Holiness, the XIVth Dalai Lama, was the first recipient of this award, presented on the occasion of his visit to The Great Stupa of Dharmakaya in September 2006. The award presentation was the culmination of Compassion in the Rockies, a weekend of contemplative meditation and discussion with the Sakyong about creating peace in our lives and in the world.

Photo: Breton Hoagland

Afterwards, the Sakyong, along with Queen Noor of Jordon and Rabbi Irwin Kula of the National Jewish Center for Leadership and Learning joined His Holiness for an interfaith exchange on the role of compassion in global leadership. This potent collaboration continued, and in the fall of 2008 the three hosted conversations about peace at universities in New York and Boston. Click here to watch seven minute video excerpt »

The Living Peace Award is represented by one of North America’s most distinctive icons of wisdom and compassion – The Great Stupa of Dharmakaya. In these turbulent times that threaten the lives of countless people and the planet itself, this monument is a beacon for peace. It serves as a timeless image for the Living Peace Award.


Rabbi Irwin Kula, Queen Noor, His Holiness the Dalai Lama, and Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche